Club News‎ > ‎

Bennettsbridge Junior B team secure 3rd win in league over the Blacks & Whites

posted Apr 20, 2015, 5:48 AM by Alan Flynn
Bennettsbridge travelled to Tom Walsh Park to take on Blacks & Whites in 3rd round of the JJ Kavanagh Busses Junior b Hurling League on Sunday evening. Having won the previous 2 matches the Brodge were trying to keep the momentum going against what will always be tough opposition. After just 4 minutes the Bridge found themselves 2 pts to no score down and struggling to keep up to the pace of the Skeogh men. A fifth minute point from Dylan Walsh was followed up by 2 points from the home side. However 3 unanswered points from the Bridge boys saw them right back in the game after 10 minutes. 3 unanswered points from the B&W men saw them in control again after 15 minutes. The Bridge boys started to find their rhythm and were rewarded with 3 further points of their own. Coming up to half time the Bridge found themselves down by 2 points only for Tom Kiely to find his range with 2 points before the break. The sides went in level at 10 points each and having not played well as a unit things could only get better in the second half. And so it did with 2 early points on the board from Willie Murphy and Michael Shiel the Bridge boys were now in front for the first time and playing as a team. A pointed free for B&Ws was followed up with 2 more points from inform Kevin Brennan saw the Bridge edge ahead B&Ws struck back with 2 points of their own but things were going the Bridges way and a pointed free was quickly followed up with a well worked goal from Ronan O’Connor. Scores were drying up for the home side and with just 2 minutes to go the result was put beyond doubt when Shane Byrne intercepted a ball and delivered it up the field. It was taken by Kevin Brennan who finished it to the net. So 3 games down and 3 wins for this team and hopefully the effort put in by the mentors will pay off by the end of the season. The final score in Skeough was Blacks & Whites 0-16 Bennettsbridge 2-17. The team was B Tynan, Paul O’Neill, S Nolan, B O’Neill, W Murphy(0-2), S Byrne, E Fitzgerald, M Shiel(0-2), K Brennan(1-9), D Walsh(0-1),Patrick O’Neill(0-1),R O’Connor(1-0), T Kiely(0-2), R Walsh, A Byrne.