Club News‎ > ‎

Bennettsbridge Junior B edge past Comer by a point in the 3rd round of league

posted Feb 2, 2017, 8:32 AM by Alan Flynn

Bennettsbridge Junior B team travelled to Castlecomer to play the 3rd round of their league championship.  The lads started very brightly with Ben Tynan raising the first white flag within the first minute.  The opening ten minutes was owned by the Bridge where they cut through the Erins Own defence on two or three occasions but the final pass let them down to convert for goal where taking a point may have been the better option but a goal did come through Willie Murphy with a fine shot to the keepers top right after good build up play from Pat O Neill and Dylan Walsh.  Erins Own then responded taking some fine scores themselves and got a good goal for their efforts too.  The momentum swung with the home side when they grabbed another few points and two soft goals (from the Bridge perspective) which left an eight point lead for them at half time on a scoreline of 3-11 to 1-09.  The players talk at half time and a couple of positional switches by the mgt sparked them into life for the second half and to keep the home side from only scoring 3 points in thirty minutes says enough about the effort the lads gave in the second half.  Willie Murphy was on fire with his point taking and struck for his second wonderful goal within the first ten minutes of the second half closing the eight point gap.  Erins Own kept the pressure on till the end but with the tenacious tackling of our half back and full back line and the forwards chasing, hooking and blocking their efforts went mostly unrewarded and gave away some handy frees which Kevin Brennan took full advantage of.  This was a terrific one point victory for the lads and their third win in the group which puts them in good stead for the knock out part of the championship.  The remaining game of the group is against Lisdowney in Lisdowney on Monday 18 July 2016.

The final scoreline was Erins Own 3-14 Bennettsbridge 2-18

The Team was Tom Kiely, Aidan Byrne, Shane Byrne, Bill O’ Neill, Paul O’Neill, Eddie Murphy, Eddie Fitzgerald, Kevin Brennan(0-9, 7fs,1 65), Luke Dowling(0-1), Dylan Walsh, Pat O’Neill, Ben Tynan(0-1), Gary Hayes, Willie Murphy(2-07), Maurice Walsh. Subs. Leo McCarthy for Maurice Walsh, Seamus Moran for G Hayes, Unused subs Damien O Donavan, Gary Graham.